THE F.D.P. AND THE CONVENTION CHALLENGE

"We are not allowed to function effectively in Mississippi's traditional Democratic Party; therefore, we must find another way to align ourselves with the National Democratic Party."

The Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party (FDP) is open to citizens of all races and encourages the political participation of all.

The Freedom Democratic Party was established in April, 1964. At a meeting on April 26 approximately 200 delegates from across the state set up a Temporary State Executive Committee for the party. The following people were elected to serve on the Committee (the number in parentheses refers to Congressional District):

Dr. Aaron Henry, Chairman Clarksdale (II)

Rev. J.W. Brown Hattiesburg (V)

Mr. Percy Chapman Jackson (III)

Mrs. Annie Devine Canton (IV)

Mr. Samuel Glover Canton (IV)

Mrs. Pinky Hall Hattiesburg (V) Rev. Merrill Lindsey West Point (I)

Mr. Leslie McLemore Holly Springs (II)

Mr. Charles Robinson Canton (IV)

Rev. R.L.T. Smith Jackson (III)

Mr. Eddie Thomas Vicksburg (III)

Mrs. Evelyn Wright Hattiesburg (V)

The Temporary State Executive Committee is responsible for supervising the calling of precinct, county, district, and state meetings at which the delegates to the National Democratic Convention will be selected. As of July 5, the Temporary Executive Committee has fixed the following dates for the FDP meetings:

Precinct and County Meetings: To be held before August 2nd, at times convenient for each area.

District Caucuses: To be held during the week of August 2-8 in the following cities:

Columbus (I)
Clarksdale (II)
Jackson (III)
Meridian (IV)
Hattiesburg (V).

The State Convention will convene on August 9 in Jackson.

The precinct meetings may be attended by anyone who has been registered on the Freedom Registration books, including persons who may be registered on official voting books of the State of Mississippi.

The following is a sample resolution that may be introduced at precinct conventions where people wish to do so:

Whereas we believe that the National Democratic Party represents the best interests of the majority of the people in Mississippi, and,

Whereas the Mississippi Democratic Party has stated in party literature that it is not a part of the national party and has not supported the Democratic presidential candidates,

We therefore resolve that the delegate(s) from this precinct be instructed to go on record, if they are ultimately selected as delegates to the Democratic National Convention, as supporting the party platform and the persons selected to be the party's candidates.

All of the above meetings of the Freedom Democratic Party will follow the pattern stipulated in the Election Laws of Mississippi as closely as possible. At each level the procedure for the election of delegates and the selection of county and state executive committees will be the same as that followed by the traditional Mississippi Democratic Party.

Any variations will be published as official notification by the Freedom Democratic Party Executive Committee.

The Temporary Executive Committee has also decided to conduct a Freedom Vote between August 9-20, during which Freedom Registered Voters will ratify the National Convention Delegates selected by the State Convention.

The delegates and alternates so selected will attend the national Democratic Convention, where they will challenge the credentials of the presently recognized Mississippi Democratic Party delegation. The Freedom Democratic Party delegation will consist of 46 delegates and 22 alternates - the number allotted to the State of Mississippi by the Democratic National Committee.

The Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party maintains an office in Washington, D.C., which carries on activities to mobilize Northern support for the party. The Washington office is now located at:

1353 "U" St. NW Washington, D.C. 20009

Phone: (202) 332-7732 332-7733.

The Washington Office is administered by Mr. Walter Tillow and Miss Ella Baker, who are assisted by a small staff.